HOW TO SEE WHAT YOUR FACEBOOK PROFILE LOOKS LIKE TO OTHERS
In order to view your Facebook profile as it appears to others, Facebook has introduced the View As option. This feature was previously disabled in September 2018 due to some security concerns. Facebook disabled it temporarily as it had harmed around 50 million accounts.
NEW CHANGES MADE TO THE VIEW AS FEATURE
After Facebook revived this feature, two notable changes were introduced. The first change is that the View As feature can only be used through mobile phones. Earlier, the feature could be accessed from desktop gadgets as well. However, this is not possible now. The second change introduced by Facebook is that now you can view your Timeline in the same way as the public will view it. You cannot view your profile from the perspective of a particular user. However, before the changes, you could actually choose a particular user and see how your Timeline appeared to that user.
HOW TO USE THE VIEW AS FEATURE
The View As the feature is very easy to use. It hardly takes a few seconds to view your profile as it is visible to others. The revised version of View As option can be found right below your Facebook profile picture with the sign of an eye. When you click on that option, you will be able to see your Timeline as it is visible to the public. That is, those who are not included in your Facebook friends list.
HOW CAN THE VIEW AS FEATURE BE HELPFUL
The View As a feature of Facebook can prove to really be useful for you. If you are an active Facebook user and tend to post quite a lot of photos. You might not recall which photos can be seen by the public and which cannot be. So by the View As a feature, you are able to view your Timeline as it would be visible to the public. Moreover, it is an easy method to ensure that the Facebook privacy settings that you have applied are actually working or not.
FEATURE TEMPORARILY DISABLED
Facebook temporarily disabled the View As feature due to security concerns. Facebook’s engineering team learnt in September 2018 that hackers tried to exploit a flaw in the View As feature. The hackers gained access to tokens, which are similar to digital keys. Those digital keys could be used to access people’s information on their Facebook profiles. Facebook then secured the View As feature and came up with the revised version.
The View As feature allows Facebook users to view their Facebook profiles as it is visible to the public. This feature is useful in keeping a check on your Timeline and view which posts are public and which are not public. This is a very unique feature provided by Facebook. Earlier, you could stalk other people’s Facebook profiles but now you are able to view your own profile. Although, you cannot view your Facebook profile from a specific individual that is a part of your friends list.